Sierra Oscars

In the spring of 2021 we asked our twitter followers to vote for a few of your ‘The Bill’ favourites. Below are the winners. An enormous thank you goes to all those who took the time to vote, without you the Sierra Oscars would not happen!

The Sierra Oscar for your most Favourite ‘On Location’ Episode goes to the joint winners: ‘Thug on the Tyne’ and ‘Loaded’. ‘Last Orders’ won 3rd place.

For those of you who are unsure of episode titles, Thug On The Tyne saw Burnside & Rawton in Newcastle. Loaded was the Des & Reg visiting Southend ep. Ted Roach’s funeral took place in Last Orders.

If you wish to watch Andrea’s final episode it is episode 289. Viv Martella’s final episode was ‘The Short Straw’ and Honey Harman’s ‘Zain: The Greatest Day.’ We also waved a sad goodbye to Ken in ‘Trojan Horse’.

You decided that the Sierra Oscar for the best humorous episode should go to Section F. Twanky came a close 2nd place. There was not a 3rd place given in this category due to so many different episodes receiving a similar amount of votes.

We asked you which stunt you thought was the best.  You voted for totally unforgettable Barry Stringer chase scene in Cry Havoc.  Trojan Horse (explosion that killed Ken Melvin) and Writing On The Wall (Des & Reg car crash) were jointly voted second.

You voted for your favourite storyline. We had an enormous number of votes for this category. Over 35 different storylines were voted for, not one single storyline received over 5 votes. It seems everybody has their own favourites. Every storyline deserves the Sierra Oscar!

We asked you to vote for the most dramatic episode. Over 35 different episodes were voted for in this category.  The winner of this Sierra Oscar was The Short Straw.  Zain – The Greatest Day and Episode 288 were voted joint 2nd. In The Short Straw we saw WDC Viv Martella killed.  Zain – The Greatest Day was Honey Harman’s final episode. In Episode 288 DC Ken Drummond met his end in a shocking way.

We asked you to vote for your favourite officer who was at Sun Hill during the 1980s. The Sierra Oscar goes to DS Ted Roach. Sgt Bob Cryer came 2nd whilst DI Frank Burnside came 3rd.

You voted for your favourite officer who was at Sun Hill during 1990s.  It was a very close vote even after several retweets! The joint winners were DI Frank Burnside and PC Tony Stamp. Sgt Bob Cryer came 3rd.

We then asked you to vote for your favourite police officer who was at Sun Hill from the year 2000 to the end of the show. The Sierra Oscar goes to Inspector Dale Smith who received the most votes, followed by DC Mickey Webb in 2nd and PC Tony Stamp in 3rd. We ought to note whilst there are only three winners in each decade, many, many officers, both based in uniform and CID received numerous votes.

Our final Sierra Oscar category is awarded to your favourite all-time character.  We literally had hundreds of votes for many characters.  Almost every single regular character gained votes. The Sierra Oscar goes to PC Tony Stamp! Derek Conway & Gina Gold were joint 2nd. Frank Burnside came 4th and Dale Smith came 5th.  Other officers who received an enormous number of votes were: Jo Masters, Jack Meadows, Don Beech, Ted Roach & Reg Hollis.